Quicklinks

 

School Board of Directors

The Casa Esperanza Board of Directors regularly meets once a month on the dates denoted on the Casa Family calendar. If you would like to offer your talents or service to help build Casa Esperanza Montessori, please consider volunteering on one of the board committees.  The board of directors represent the  nonprofit organization established in 2000 to make a language-studies based, Montessori education available to children in the Triangle area of North Carolina through a private preschool and public elementary and middle grades charter school, which serve students ages 3-14 years. The Board of Directors is responsible for writing the Casa strategic plan to guide the growth and development of the school, including excellence in academic performance, fiscal responsibility, managed growth, community involvement and clear leadership.

Unless otherwise noted, all meetings are held at the school.

MEETING DATES

The Board Meetings for the 2017-2018 School Year will be held on the following dates throughout the year. All meetings begin at 6:00 p.m. and are held at the school. 

 August 17, 2017  November 16, 2017 February 15, 2018  May 17, 2018
 September 21, 2017  December 21, 2017  March 15, 2018  June 21, 2018
 October 19, 2017  January 18, 2018  April 19, 2018

 

 

Board of Directors Members

Name Role Contact
Awamary Khan Chairperson* mkhan@cemcs.org
Norma Quinones Vice Chairperson*  nquinones@cemcs.org
Alice Ward Treasurer*  award@cemcs.org
Cindy Appleby Secretary* cappleby@cemcs.org
Kristina Sims Member at Large ksims@cemcs.org
Traci Tucker-Cortez Member at Large  ttucker-cortez@cemcs.org
Allen Cannedy Member at Large  acannedy@cemcs.org
Gerardo Obando Member at Large  gorbando@cemcs.org
Monique Taylor Member at Large  mtaylor@cemcs.org
Mike Slipsky Member at Large  mslipsky@cemcs.org
Seth Wood Member at Large  swood@cemcs.org

*Executive Committee Members

Committee Structure

Committee Name Meeting Days & Time
Board Affairs Second Thursday at 5:30 p.m.
Finance/Human Resources Second Thursday at 5:00 p.m.
Strategic Planning TBD
Development Third Thursday at 5:00 p.m.
Communications Second Thursday at 6:00 p.m.
Executive Second Wednesday at 8:00 a.m.
Board Meetings Third Thursday at 6:00 p.m.

If you are interested in serving on a committee as a committee member or committee chairperson please contact our Board  Affairs Chairperson, Awamary Khan.

All board meetings and committee meetings are listed on the family calendars. Any changes to the regular schedule will be made there.